top of page

J.WHITE WOOODWORKS

  • Writer's pictureJason

THE NEW DIGGS

Updated: Jan 28, 2018


Ahhhh, the new shop. We recently bought a house with a double car garage (my prerequisite to the new house). It has a nice layout and plenty of room for a hobbyist woodworking shop. Of course it is ever evolving and I continue to make improvements. Stay tuned for new ideas I come up with. Below is the "blank slate" that I had to work with.




My table saw station is the center piece of the shop. See my blog on more for this piece.



Next to the saw is my lumber rack and my scrap cart. Also I utilized a French cleat system for some hand tools, sander and glue storage. I hung the drill/charger station there too. The wall cabinet to the left stores my finish materials, nail guns, and automotive supplies. Below it hangs my Leigh dovetail jig





To right of the back door there is the perfect alcove for the dust collector and the compressor. The compressor is from my cabinet shop which I've have since 99' - still kicking. As for now I purchased a Harbor Freight 2HP dust collector. Works pretty well, I added a garbage can chip separator with a Thien separator built onto the lid. It really works nicely to separate the fine dust. Dust collection plumbing is all out of PVC sewer pipe and fittings. I did ground the system which I copied from "the down to earth woodworking" site. Whether or not static electricity builds up in the PVC ductwork I decided to ground anyway. In the future I hope to get a Laguna 2HP cyclone. It too will fit perfectly in the space. Can't wait!







The back wall of the shop has my main storage cabinets. The base cabinet stores tools, cabinet hardware, and other supplies. The upper cabinet stores my woodworking periodicals and other misc. fasteners and construction materials. To the right is my drill press. It is bolted to a roll around cabinet that stores all my screws and misc. cabinet fasteners. the top drawer has the drill press accessories.













Yes, my work bench. A lot of thought went into this. Of course it is blatantly obvious that it is Ron Paulk inspired. It such a great design and it can be modified to fit any kind of need. I also watched Jay Bates to see his spin on the design of his bench. There are so many variations of the bench on social media it's great. I didn't need a 4X8 table so I made mine 3X6. I didn't drill clamping holes in the top either however I may in the future. I build a solid base out of Douglas Fir and a shelf for storage of large items. I'm really happy with it. I finished it with thick water based poly and a coat of paste wax. Works like a champ.




I made some full height storage cabinets for household items and overflow shop storage. I used the side for pipe clamp storage. Nice to have a utility sink in the garage too for cleanup when finishing or glue ups.


















My planer and jointer are on mobile bases also even though they don't need to be moved around. Both of the bases can be seen in my projects page of the website. The planer is on a flip top cart inspired be the Fix this Build that design I found on Pinterest. I may in the future mount the sharpening station to the other side of the top but who knows.


Behind the table saw I have a 10" Rikon band saw. Great little band saw and one of the few things I have purchased new. I used to have a 16" Laguna band saw when I had my cabinet shop which is the Cadillac of bands saws but I don't need something that big any more.


Another view from the garage door.


204 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page